What I did last night!

Yesterday my little 3-year-old was off to grandma’s for the day, and I had the whole day to work. But a day with all work and no play is no fun. I decided to add something to my schedule to give me something to look forward to. Something new and different.

I knew my husband and I were going to have the evening together, so it would be fun to do something for the both of us. You know the saying about the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach? Well, that wasn’t true in our case. I have no special talent in the kitchen. I hardly have enough energy and time at the end of the day to think of anything fancy to make. I’m definitely not a Martha Stewart or Darcy Baker. šŸ™‚ BUT, for some reason last night I was feeling up to a challenge.

I decided that I was going to make a special candlelit dinner. I wanted all the recipes to be something new that I’ve never tried before, and I wanted to try to pick things out that would compliment each other. Off to Pinterest I went. I looked through all the “repins” I’ve never actually had a chance to look into. I browsed recipes and finally came up with options that I thought I could handle.

Here was our Menu

Honey Mustard Pretzel Chicken
Roasted Garlic Green Beans
Crash Hot Potatoes
Cranberry Grape Spritzer
Southern Peach Cobbler

The night was a success. I’m not sure if I did everything right, but it still tasted wonderful! The peach cobbler is definitely the best cobbler I’ve ever had. It was worth peeling all those peaches! The company was great too! My husband and I just sat and talked in the flickering light about anything and everything without any interruptions or distractions. It felt so good to have time for just us. To remember the friendship we started with. It was like taking a deep breath in the middle of a busy life.

blog1

blog2

blog3

blog4

Leave a Reply

