My first wedding expo in Bemidji

I finally decided to do my first wedding expo.  I’ve been debating it for years, and I’m glad that I finally took the jump!  I had so much fun!

The first thing I had to do was figure out how to design my booth.  I wanted it to look professional and stylish.  I wanted it to reflect my photography and my personality.  I ran through tons of ideas before putting together my own little scribbles for a backdrop.  I then gave my scribbles to Chris Pollock from NCC.  He is amazing!  He turned my scribbles into reality!  He is a true craftsman.  I highly recommend him for any handyman job.  🙂

So, the next step was to paint my backdrop pink.  I hesitated at first since it was such a bright color, but then decided to go with my heart on the issue.  Pink it was!  And I loved it!  I then stenciled on my logo.  I decided to hang white curtains and lights in the corners to dress it up and make it feel like a living room.

The next project was the chaise lounge.  My aunt (the coolest aunt ever) gave me her chaise lounge after visiting her down in the cities.  I was so excited to customize the chaise to my booth, and I’m also so excited to use it in future photo shoots!  My mom ended up sanding and painting most of it.  Did you know that you can paint leather?  You use 2 parts paint to 1 part water.  The final result was beautiful.  I then stapled fabric over the cushion.  Easy to customize and change.  I also sewed pillow slipcovers with a fun black and white pattern that matched the runners on the front tables.

The setup went quick and flawless.  It was more amazing than I thought it would be.  It was so fun meeting all the brides, but I never imagined how fun it would be meeting all the vendors.  My booth was right next to one of the coolest guys I’ve ever met.  Brandon is a teacher/photographer/dj/silk screener.  By the end of the show my mom was wanting to adopt him, and I was hoping she would!  We had so much fun hanging out with him.  I also got to meet Jodi and Elise from Events by Design.  We’ve already met for coffee since and brainstormed some really fun ideas to collaborate on.  Georgette from the Sanford Center also gave me a tour of their venue.  Brides, you seriously need to consider having your event at the Sanford Center!  I was so impressed with the rooms and the prices!

Overall, the expo was awesome.  I’m so glad I got a chance to be there and to meet so many fabulous people.  🙂

The beginnings...

I think the fumes started getting to me.

Me and my momma! So fun having her there!

Me in my first wedding expo ever! Loved it!

I want to send out an enormous, humongous, ginormous thank you to a few people.  My parents first of all.  Thank you for all your help.  You took care of my son, you let me use up the heated space in your garage, you helped haul my stuff to and from the show, you painted, you advised, you shopped with, and you supported me with everything.  You guys rock!  I also want to thank my hubby.  Besides being the cutest guy ever, he is apparently the most encouraging and supportive as well.  He is behind me in everything I do and helping me every step of the way.  It was really fun having him involved in the show.  I love my family.  🙂

4 thoughts on “My first wedding expo in Bemidji

  1. I was at the Expo, and I must say that you all did a wonderful job. Your space was bright and fun, and very attractive!

  2. Kristen!!! Oh my goodness your booth looks fantastic!!! You are so creative! I would love to know how you built your stencil for your logo?

    Great job on everything!

  3. The stencil was such a pain to do! I ended up just printing it on 5 different transparencies. I then taped them together and used an exacto knife to cut it. PAIN! But now that it’s over I think it was worth it. It blended in very well but stood out at the same time. Thanks for the nice comments, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

