My Christmas Gift

We spent Christmas in Hibbing, MN with my husband’s family.  As soon as we arrived on Christmas Day, I put my 2 1/2 year old down for a nap in a pack’n’play in my husband’s parent’s bedroom.  We left our luggage in their room, turned the fan on, turned the lights off, and left Michael to sleep.

I went in after  a couple hours to see if he had woken up.  To my surprise he hadn’t slept at all.  He had been up preparing his own Christmas surprise for me.

He had pulled out everything from his suitcase and partially from mine.  He had emptied a bottle of baby powder, which the fan so conveniently spread over every surface of the room.  Seriously, I lifted up a doily on one of the dressers and could see the doily pattern in the dispersed powder.    He had also pulled my makeup out of my suitcase, and my foundation and mascara found it’s way to his face.  It also found it’s way to his beautiful new white shirt, tie and white Ralph Lauren sweater, my in-law’s bedspread, and his stuffed animal, Arf.  I regret to say after soaking, scrubbing, soap, OxiClean and bleach, nothing survived the attack.  Well, maybe Arf will survive, but he is still in critical condition.

I can’t really explain what went through my mind when I opened the door and beheld what my toddler had been so busy doing instead of sleeping.  I had everyone come and look because I was so in shock, I couldn’t even begin to explain it to them.  I then tried to capture it with my camera.  My mother-in-law was so sweet about the entire thing.  She was laughing.  I wasn’t.

I didn’t think it was funny.  At the time.  I decided to wait to blog about it until I could.  So, apparently since I’m blogging about it now, it must mean that I can laugh about it, even though it’s a very weak laugh.

I learned two lessons from this experience.

1.  When faced with a bad situation, try to keep in mind that it could always be worse.  Afterward I was able to be thankful that at least Michael didn’t get hurt.  It could have been much worse.  Just knowing that he was okay made me feel better.

2.  Don’t leave your luggage in a room with Michael.

Happy New Year’s, everyone!  Wishing you all the best in 2012!

Leave a Reply

