My nifty fifty

One of the first lenses I bought was a Nikkor 50 1.4D.  The 50mm seems to be the highest recommended lens for any slr.  In fact, many photographers say you have no excuse not to have a 50mm prime if you are a photographer.  The 50mm 1.8 runs for a little over $100.  For the quality and price, you can’t go wrong!

I was excited to start using my lens, but I was a little disappointed with how soft it was.  I bought the more expensive f1.4 so I could shoot wide open in lowlight situations, but the quality wasn’t as good.  My depth of field was so shallow that my photos didn’t look sharp at all.  I discovered that other people were dealing with the same issues as well.  I will say, though, that from f4.0 and smaller the sharpness of the lens is amazing!  Below is an example of what I’m talking about.

One thought on “My nifty fifty

Leave a Reply

